Ricky Thornton Jr

Berry Rides Hot Streak on the Way to Jamestown Crown


Dakota Classic Modified Tour

Berry Rides Hot Streak on the Way to Jamestown Crown

By Jackson Braun

JAMESTOWN, N.D. (July 6, 2019) – Tom Berry Jr. has been on fire in North Dakota this season, grabbing 5 wins in June and 7 total victories in weekly races and special events this year.

Berry’s 8th victory of the North Dakota racing season was by far the biggest, as the opening circuit of the 30th Annual Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Modified Tour at Jamestown Speedway ended up in his hands, along with a $2,400 check.

2014 Tour champion Jeff Taylor and 2014 Jamestown winner Justin O’Brien led the 29-car IMCA Modified field to the green flag. Drivers were a little antsy getting going a few times on the jump, but then got straightened out. On the restart that got things going, Jeff Taylor’s car did not fire correctly, falling back and retiring from the field.

This gave O’Brien the lead on a track where he has had past success. Misfortune struck a few more past tour champions, as the three-peat and defending champion, Hunter Marriott, dropped out early in the running. 2015 tour champion Ricky Thornton Jr. also found his way back to the pit area during a caution, paving way for a potential new face as champion in the Modifieds by the end of the week.

Local racers Matt Aukland (Glyndon, Minn.) and Jarrett Carter (Lisbon, N.D.) showed some muscle early on, battling for second as Berry lurked behind them. Berry drove his machine in low and picked off Carter. Grundy Center, Iowa’s Joel Rust was piloting his machine around the top side of the speedway around Berry for 3rd when a caution reset the field. Berry made the most of the restart, as his positioning in the outside lane gave him an opportunity to pull alongside O’Brien.

A pair of 12 machines battled for 2nd after Berry cleared O’Brien. Aukland, son of famed late model pilot Rick Aukland, took his 12A machine around the high side behind Berry as O’Brien’s 12J stuck on the low line. Racing was phenomenal throughout the pack as drivers settled into positions and jockeyed two and three wide to climb up the field. When the dust settled, Berry took the win in a convincing fashion over Aukland, O’Brien, Mandan’s Shawn Strand, and Dickinson’s Mike Hansen.

Some movers and shakers were Oklahoma racer Jason Hughes, Minnesota racer Lucas Schott, and Minot hotshoe Robert “Hot Rod” Hellebust, who each moved up 12 spots in the feature event.

Although unlucky in the Modified division, Ricky Thornton Jr. had more success in the Stock Cars. His first tour win in the Stock Cars came while he was substituting for Curt Lund up in Estevan two years ago, but this time Ricky had his own car and was able to hold off 5-time tour champion Elijah Zevenbergen to claim the checkers. 2014 champion Dalton Flory finished 3rd while Scott Gartner grabbed a solid 4th-place finish and Matt Speckman rounded out the top 5.

15 U.S. states and 2 Canadian provinces were represented among the 75-car Modified field and 22-car Stock Car field. The Dakota Classic Modified Tour takes to the North Dakota State Fairgrounds for the next stop at the Nodak Speedway in Minot, North Dakota on Sunday, July 7.


IMCA Modifieds – 1. Tom Berry, Newburg; 2. Matt Aukland, Glyndon, Minn.; 3. Justin O’Brien, West Union, Iowa; 4. Shawn Strand, Mandan; 5. Mike Hansen, Dickinson; 6. Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.; 7. Tanner Black, Otis, Kan.; 8. Travis Hagen, McGregor; 9. Joel Rust, Grundy Center, Iowa; 10. Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.; 11. Robert Hellebust, Minot; 12. Allen Kent, West Fargo; 13. Billy Kendall, Baxter, Minn.; 14. Casey Arneson, Fargo; 15. Kody Scholpp, Estevan, Sask.; 16. Brad Hartigan, Dickinson; 17. Jason Wolla, Ray; 18. Spencer Wilson, Minot; 19. Travis Olheiser, Dickinson; 20. Jarrett Carter, Lisbon; 21. Marcus Tomlinson, Turtle Lake; 22. Tyler Hall, Fertile, Minn.; 23. Jason Grimes, Jamestown; 24. Marlyn Seidler, Underwood; 25. Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.; 26. Ricky Thornton Jr., Adel, Iowa; 27. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 28. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 29. Dylan Goplen, Fargo.

IMCA Stock Cars – 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., Adel, Iowa; 2. Elijah Zevenbergen, Ocheyedan, Iowa; 3. Dalton Flory, Williston; 4. Scott Gartner, Jamestown; 5. Matt Speckman, Sleepy Eye, Minn.; 6. Joe Flory, Williston; 7. Austin Daae, Estevan, Sask.; 8. Keith Mattox, Ray; 9. Hunter Fears, Riverdale; 10. Aden Clark, Surrey; 11. Justin Bachmeier, Williston; 12. Tim Compson, Valley City; 13. Chase Davidson, Macoun, Sask.; 14. Joe Schrodt, Coleharbor; 15. Randy Schultz, Swift Current, Sask.; 16. Mike Hagen, Williston; 17. Jeremy Swanson, Estevan, Sask.; 18. Jordan Zillmer, Cleveland; 19. Michael Swallers, Minot; 20. A.J. Zimmerman, Cleveland, Minn.; 21. Chris Hortness, Estevan, Sask. DNS – John Parmeley, Phoenix, Ariz.

Article Credit: Jackson Braun

Submitted By: Jackson Braun

Back to News

Latest Photos

Dyno One
Excel Floor Covering 
Hoker Trucking
Certified Inspection Service (CSI)
High Performance Lubricants
BRS Big River Steel
Coltman Farms
Van Meter Insurance Group
VarsiTee Screenprinting
Deines-Nitz Solutions  Powdercoating
West Side Tractor Sales Co
Sub-Surface of Indiana
Midwest Sheet Metal
DE Outside Services
Lethal Chassis
Dylan Earven Foundation
EMD Wraps
Keyser Manufacturing
Wiles Racing
Barnes Systems Inc.
Strange Oval
Schoenfeld Headers
The Joie of Seating
Earnhardt Technologies Group
FK Rod Ends
Brown  Miller Racing Solutions
Bilstein Shocks
Hoosier Racing Tires
Performance Bodies and Parts
Jones Racing Products
Simpson Race Products
NAPA - Morgantown Bargersville
Swift Springs USA
Winning Edge Carburation
Longhorn Chassis
Clements Racing Engines